Being homeless

When I was in my early twenties, I once curled up and slept on the ground outside the back of a restaurant. The town was Bend Oregon and I had hitchhiked there to visit my sister Dawn.
The weather was cold that night as it often is in Eastern Oregon in the five months on either end of Winter.
I had other sleeping options that night. I could have called my sister and stayed with her. I also had a few bucks in my pocket and might have found a hotel to negotiate a rate that I could afford.
I decided though that this night I would like to experience what it is like to be homeless. To get an understanding what it is to be destitute and to be in a position to bring myself up from nothing.
You see at some time in my teenaged years, I had become intrigued with the notion of wanting to know what it would be like to be a self made person. To start life and succeed with no family support or friends to give a helping hand. To pull myself up from my shoestrings and make a go at life. No helping hand from government, no easy ride from your parents.
Well I had a good sleep but now have some kind of understanding that being homeless is more of a state of mind than a state of being without a roof over your head. I know that I do have a family to fall back on. The tax payer will likely be there if worse comes to worse. I can always manage to get a few bucks in my pocket because i was taught a work ethic.
It would take not knowing these things to really know what it is like to have nothing and truly be homeless and to bring myself up from nothing – if that is possible.

Leave a Reply

